Skip to content ↓

Accessibility Settings

Local Governing Body

Local Governing Body


Welcome to Saffron Valley Collegiate's governance page.

Saffron Valley Collegiate is part of Alternative Learning Trust (the Trust) and, as Chair of the Local Governing Body, I thought it would be useful to describe our role within the governance structure of the Trust.

The Trust's governance structure comprises Members, Trustees (the Trust Board is the single accountable body for the Trust), Trust Board Sub-Committees and Local Governing Bodies. Under the terms of the Trust’s Scheme of Delegation, Saffron Valley Collegiate’s Local Governing Body has delegated responsibilities.

We currently attend six formal meetings a year, and visit our allocated provisions within the Collegiate regularly.

This enables us to:

  • Monitor the PRU’s performance under the OFSTED criteria:
    - Effectiveness of leadership
    - Quality of teaching, learning and assessment
    - Outcomes for pupils
    - Personal development, behaviour and welfare of pupils
  • Experience for ourselves the day-to-day challenges and positive work being carried out across the PRU, through a dialogue with staff and pupils.
  • Support the performance management of the Headteacher
  • Ensure value for money
Governor Governor's Roles
David Johnston Chair of Governors
Barbara Rudge Vice Chair, Safeguarding Link Governor
Gill LaRoque Headteacher, Ex Officio Governor
Margaret Bird Governor
Saqib Chaudhri Governor
Angela Wellington Staff Governor

All governors can be contacted by email or post addressed to The Clerk to Governors, Leila Poole at

FAO Clerk to Governors
Saffron Valley Collegiate
KS4 South
279 High Street


LGB Meeting Dates 2023-2024
Tuesday, 19 September 2023
Tuesday, 21 November 2023
Tuesday, 23 January 2024
Tuesday, 19 March 2024
Tuesday, 7 May 2024
Tuesday, 18 June 2024


Governance Information